This is the "MHS Research Databases" page of the "Introduction to MHS Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Introduction to MHS Databases  

Last Updated: Oct 7, 2014 URL: http://mhs.mascoutah.libguides.com/content.php?pid=633601 Print Guide RSS Updates
MHS Research Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What database do I choose for my project?

The MHS Library provides access to many different research databases.  How do you know which research database to use for a class project?  Please refer to the guides to the right.

 

 

MHS Library Database Passwords

 

Database Source Results Guide

Reference Article: a non-fiction article from a dictionary, encyclopedia, or atlas intended primarily for consultation; secondary source

News Article: a short non-fiction article from a daily or weekly newspaper; can be a primary or secondary source

Primary Source: an original source of information about a topic; a first-hand account

Magazine Article: a short non-fiction article from a daily, weekly, or monthly magazine; can be a primary or secondary source

Academic Journal Article: a scholarly article from a peer-reviewed publication; publications typically focus on a specific discipline

Critical Essays: a critique or review of another work; an objective analysis of the work, examining both its positive and negative aspects

Podcast: an audio news article

 

 

Tips & Suggestions for Successful Database Searches

Use KEYWORDS - Narrow your search to a name, place, event, etc.  For example, if you are looking for information about how global warming impacts the environment, you can pull several keywords to search with just from your topic: “global warming” or “environment”.  If you have background knowledge about your topic, try to think of other keywords you could use: such as, “climate change”.  Once you’ve begun searching most databases will provide you with additional search terms.  Use them!

Use ADVANCED SEARCH or SEARCH LIMITERS to find more specific information about your topic or to lessen your search results.  For example, you may search for “global warming” and get 1,000’s of results.  To narrow that search you could just look at the impact on “oceans”, by searching for “global warming” and “oceans”.  You could also limit your search by the type of document your looking for, such as just pictures or just articles or just podcasts, or limit further, by searching a specific time period or magazine. 

Use BREADCRUMBS to navigate in the database you are using.  Locate the “Return to Search Results” link to take you back to your list of results.

Read SUMMARIES or ABSTRACTS to save time and see if the article is helpful to your research.

 

 

Where Do I Find the Icons for the Databases?

When you are at school use the icons in the Library Resources folder of the ZenWorks App Launcher:

When you are at home use the icons on the first tab of the MHS LibGuide:

(Remember that you will need to use the database passwords from home or anywhere off campus.)

 

English Classes

These are great research databases to use for your English Classes:

Literature Resource Center

NoveList

SIRS Researcher

Student Research Center

 

Reference eBooks

EB Websters 3rd New International Dictionary

Encyclopedia Britannica

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

 

Social Studies Classes

These are great research databases to use for your Social Studies Classes:

Annals of American History

EB World Data Analyst

Encyclopedia Britannica

Global Issues in Context

Historical Newspapers

Salem History

SIRS Researcher

U.S. History in Context

World History in Context

 

Reference eBooks

EB Websters 3rd New International Dictionary

Encyclopedia Britannica

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

 

Science Classes

These are great research databases to use for your Science Classes:

EB World Data Analyst

Encyclopedia Britannica

Global Issues in Context

Salem History

SIRS Researcher

Student Research Center

Reference eBooks

EB Websters 3rd New International Dictionary

Encyclopedia Britannica

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

 

Math Classes

These are great research databases to use for your Math Classes:

EB World Data Analyst

Student Research Center

Reference eBooks

EB Websters 3rd New International Dictionary

Encyclopedia Britannica

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip