This is the "Welcome to MHS LibGuides!" page of the "MHS Lib Guides Homepage" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MHS Lib Guides Homepage  

Welcome to the MHS virtual Library Media Center!
Last Updated: Dec 5, 2016 URL: http://mhs.mascoutah.libguides.com/content.php?pid=593638 Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome to MHS LibGuides! Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is a Lib Guide?

Lib Guides are one-stop-shopping for MHS student projects.  By clicking on a subject tab, you will find a list of teachers and current projects.  Within each project Lib Guide, you will find all necessary resources to complete the project: database links, citation resources, suggested websites, teacher handouts, etc.

 

Searching Strategies

OPERATOR

WHAT IT DOES

EXAMPLE

AND

Requires all terms to appear

Narrows search

Exercise AND health

finds results with both terms

OR

Makes one, some, or all terms appear

Broadens search

Salary OR income

finds results using either term

NOT

Prohibits a term from appearing

Narrows search

Bears NOT grizzly

finds bears and restricts grizzly

“ “

Searches for an exact phrase

“Spirit of St. Louis”

finds exact phrase in exact order

*

Searches for variations of words

Bank*

finds bank, banks, banking, etc.

 

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

Source Type

Definition

Examples

Primary

Original, first-hand account of an event or time period; factual, not interpretive; written or made during or close to the event or time period; results of experiments, clinical trials, or research

Diaries, government records, speeches, photographs, maps, interviews, paintings, newspaper and magazine articles from the event or time period

Secondary

Analyzes and interprets primary sources; second-hand account of an historical event

Biographies, literary criticisms, books, newspaper and magazine articles that interpret

 

 

We Have Great Databases!

To access the databases off campus, you may click here for passwords, pick up the passwords in the Library, or join the MHS Library Google Classroom page.

 

GALE Databases

 

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

 

Proquest Databases

  

 

 

EBSCO Databases

 

 

 

 

First Search - Statewide Illinois Catalog

(Includes: ArticleFirst, ECO, ERIC, MEDLINE, & WorldCat)

 

Please Let Us Know How We Are Doing!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip