This is the "Research Databases" page of the "Comp I - Novel Research Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Comp I - Novel Research Project  

Last Updated: May 6, 2014 URL: http://mhs.mascoutah.libguides.com/content.php?pid=593509 Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Source Results Guide

Reference Article: a non-fiction article from a dictionary, encyclopedia, or atlas intended primarily for consultation; secondary source

News Article: a short non-fiction article from a daily or weekly newspaper; can be a primary or secondary source

Primary Source: an original source of information about a topic; a first-hand account

Magazine Article: a short non-fiction article from a daily, weekly, or monthly magazine; can be a primary or secondary source

Academic Journal Article: a scholarly article from a peer-reviewed publication; publications typically focus on a specific discipline

Critical Essays: a critique or review of another work; an objective analysis of the work, examining both its positive and negative aspects

Podcast: an audio news article

 

 

U.S. History in Context

U.S. History in Context will provide you with reference, newspaper, academic journal, and magazine articles.  You may also find informative videos, podcasts, and accurate images from this database.

 

Global Issues In Context

Global Issues in Context will provide you with reference, newspaper, journal, and magazine articles.  You will also find informative videos and accurate images from this database.

 

     

    Tips & Suggestions for Successful Database Searches

    Use KEYWORDS - Narrow your search to a name, place, event, etc.  For example, if you are looking for information about how global warming impacts the environment, you can pull several keywords to search with just from your topic: “global warming” or “environment”.  If you have background knowledge about your topic, try to think of other keywords you could use: such as, “climate change”.  Once you’ve begun searching most databases will provide you with additional search terms.  Use them!

    Use ADVANCED SEARCH or SEARCH LIMITERS to find more specific information about your topic or to lessen your search results.  For example, you may search for “global warming” and get 1,000’s of results.  To narrow that search you could just look at the impact on “oceans”, by searching for “global warming” and “oceans”.  You could also limit your search by the type of document your looking for, such as just pictures or just articles or just podcasts, or limit further, by searching a specific time period or magazine. 

    Use BREADCRUMBS to navigate in the database you are using.  Locate the “Return to Search Results” link to take you back to your list of results.

    Read SUMMARIES or ABSTRACTS to save time and see if the article is helpful to your research.

     

     

    Student Resources in Context

    Student Resources in Context will provide you with reference, newspaper, journal, and magazine articles.  You will also find informative videos and accurate images from this database.

       

      World History in Context

      World History in Context will provide you with reference, newspaper, academic journal, and magazine articles.  You may also find informative videos, podcasts, and accurate images from this database.

       

      Gale Virtual Reference Library

      Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a collection of eReference Books for the MHS Library.  The eReference Books search like a database, making the location of information in these reference books incredibly easy and fast.

       

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip